I’m driving my daughter to the airport at 4 AM and fog.  All of a sudden a deer which jumped over 2 lanes of interstate, the median and another lane hits my car.  I can still drive and get her to the airport and get myself back home and to the body shop where I’m told I can’t drive it like that.  $4000 damage.  There are about 20 cars ahead of me all with deer damage.  In this small town, there is no available rental car. 

Wow, at least a week where I can stay home.  That really sounded wonderful.  My husband and I always dreamed of having that time without commitments.  But as the week processed I started feeling sorry for myself.  There was no one here but me.  Boredom set in.  Then I remembered feeling sorry for myself isn’t an option.  I prayed and asked God what He wanted me to do with my time.

Now the time is blessed.  We have a choice of what emotions we will give way to.  Self-pity isn’t in the list.  We are told what things to think on in Philippians 4:8.   To have uninterrupted time with God in prayer, meditation and Bible study is a wonderful gift.  It is true that all things work out for the good to those who love the Lord.  When my car is repaired, it will be time for other ministries but right now I am having a love feast with my heavenly Father.

Leave a Reply

