I was looking for some missing items and came across a box full of notes and cards of sympathy to me for my husband’s passing.  I started reading them.  Many were from people I didn’t know.  I was being overcome with tears and sadness as I read the cards.  Then I remembered I have a choice of emotions.  I saw how so many people were impacted by my husband’s life.  Many noted specific things they had learned from him.  I changed my tears to thanksgiving to God for allowing me to be married over 50 years to such a wonderful son of His.  We have a choice in life.  We can choose to dwell on the sad and/or hurtful events in our lives as those events occur in each and every life, or we can leave those events at the foot of God’s throne in thanksgiving for what we learn through them and dwell on His blessings and goodness in our lives. 

Leave a Reply

