As I was thinking there would be no presents under my tree I recalled how for the past several years my husband and I didn’t get gifts for each other.  There was nothing we needed nor particularly wanted.  What we did instead is give an extra gift of money, what we would have spent on each other, to someone in need.  I am continuing that tradition now.  I have the joy of giving as if I am giving to my husband because I am giving in his memory.  This helps the emotional strain of the day.  Give it a try.  Not only does it make you feel good, it really helps someone feel the love of God through you and that is a wonderful blessing for both the giver and the gift receiver.

Leave a Reply

