Knowing God is always with us, always sees us, always hears us and is always in us through His Holy Spirit we must pay attention to this verse.  Colossians 3:17 17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. (NIV)  As a widow I have found it hard to motivate and cook a good meal or do housework in a timely manner.  Sometimes my clean laundry would sit in the basket waiting me to fish out what I need for the day.  Then I remembered this verse in Colossians.  It doesn’t matter what there is to do, all of it can and should be done to the glory of God.  Dishes cleaned praising Him for dishes to clean and hot water to use.  Meals cooked because God loves me and wants me to be healthy for Him to dwell in me.  As I sit and eat, I know He is with me.  Whatever I’m preaching, doing rounds in the hospital praying and helping patients and their family, writing devotions, walking a dog, doing laundry or scrubbing the bathroom, I do it all in thanks and praise to God and for His glory.  How is there glory in doing the normal, mundane tasks of daily living?  God gives us life.  Life has regular things in order to maintain a healthy body and mind.  Whatever brings health in life brings glory to God as long as we recognize we are here to fellowship with God, live for God and bring others to an awareness of God.  With God in our minds, hearts and lives, we are never alone.  Knowing this brings God glory.

Leave a Reply

