Acts 2:38-39 And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. 39 The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off—for all whom the Lord our God will call.” (NIV)

 It’s not too hard to keep strong faith when you, yourself are facing major problems.  When your children or grandchildren are facing hard times, I find my strong faith waivers.  I find it difficult without my husband joining me in prayer, physically helping when necessary and confirming decisions and sharing tears for their hurts and problems.  We can know in our head that God will work all things out for our children and grandchildren just as He does for ourselves.  But knowing this in our emotions makes strife between our mind and emotions.  This is part of the human nature.  God made us feeling people.  But emotions are not to reign.  Our emotions will change from day to day and situations to situations.  What last is the faithfulness of God.  So, as I watch and help where I can, I keep the prayer of intercession and the prayer of thanksgiving going, knowing I am not praying alone but praying with God’s Holy Spirit Who dwells in me.  I know there are many other widows and widowers who face the same problem and would encourage you to be honest about your emotions with God, then confess your trust and His wisdom and thank Him for having the final say in each of our lives and the lives of our children and grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

